Metropolitan Estate, Prof. David Wasawo Drive, Off Riverside Drive
Call Us: +254 790 877844

Mr. Pravin Bowry, S.C.


Pravin Bowry, Senior Counsel has been in practice since 1971 after graduating from Kenya School of Law and being the recipient of the Law Society Prize for the Best Academic Performance in the same year.

Mr. Bowry is a renowned and fearless practitioner in both civil and criminal litigation, having undertaken some of the most sensitive and politically volatile cases involving intricate legal issues.

He has the distinction of defending personalities ranging from Chief Justices, Members of Parliament, Permanent Secretaries and Advocates and has appeared in famous cases such as the Goldenberg Inquiry, the murder trial of Johanna Anguka in the “Ouko murder trial”, and the Makhalla trial involving the disappearance and murder of an English girl, Julie Ward, in the world famous Maasai Mara.

He was instrumental in prosecuting a Constitutional case that successfully led to the Kenya Anti-Corruption Authority (KACA) being declared unconstitutional, only later to become, for a short duration, the Assistant Director (Legal Services) of KACA’s successor, the Kenya Anti-Corruption Commission (KACCA). Due to his outstanding dedication to the legal profession, Mr. Bowry was conferred upon the rank of Senior Council and was the recipient of the Lawyer of the Year Award in 2021.

Mr. Bowry was a columnist with the Standard writing a respected and popular weekly column and a Director for a decade of the human rights organization, (IMLU) Independent Medico-Legal Unit.

He was a partner for a long time with the retired Chief Justice, Hon. David K. Maraga. He is also the author of the book “a Guide to the Laws of Kenya” which was published in 2021. This book was meant to enable all enquiring Kenyans to understand and appreciate the basic and rudimentary laws of Kenya and be able to enforce their rights and obtain redress meaningfully.

His other weaknesses are golf, gardening and collecting old East African coins.

Awards and Achievements

  • Leadership Award Medico-Legal Unit 2011
  • Awarded the Rank of Senior Counsel 2020
  • Lawyer of the Year Award 2021